Live rock vs. dead rock

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Frogger19

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello'

I'm new to the hobby but I am building a bar in my basement and thought it'd be cool to integrate an aquarium into it. I just purchased a 210 gallon reef aquarium and 55 gallon sump aquarium off Craigslist. I also have a 30 gallon aquarium which I'm thinking about using for a refug. My torn over what rock to get. I found a website where I get get dead rock for just over 1$ a pound shipped. I have also read that dead rock is better to use because you can Avoid bad parasites. What do you guys prefer...live rock or dead rock?.

Hello'

I'm new to the hobby but I am building a bar in my basement and thought it'd be cool to integrate an aquarium into it. I just purchased a 210 gallon reef aquarium and 55 gallon sump aquarium off Craigslist. I also have a 30 gallon aquarium which I'm thinking about using for a refug. My torn over what rock to get. I found a website where I get get dead rock for just over 1$ a pound shipped. I have also read that dead rock is better to use because you can Avoid bad parasites. What do you guys prefer...live rock or dead rock?.

I started my tank with all dead rock. For a couple reasons. First is after seeing all the critter ID'd as hitchhikers on the live rock I figured as a newb I would be better off having to fight Aiptasia and others to start. Second it was a ton cheaper. From what I have read I should not have much problem seeding coraline from the backs of certain snails. I also am in no rush to get through my cycle and get to stock. Really taking my time to make sure my bacteria levels are up and the rock has cured properly.

Hello'