Looking to get into breeding fish!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MDaqua

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone im new to breeding fish and am looking to get started. Im trying to pick a type of fish to start with. I have 4 10 gal tanks only one is set up at the moment and will not be used for the breeding. Also have a 1.8 gal tank and will be growing brine shrimp to feed i recently purchased that equipment and eggs. I have heard guppies are very easy but i do not know how to find a breeding trio that is good to start with. If anyone has a set they would like to sell on the cheap im very interested! Im open to other kinds of fish than guppies also making a little money off them would be GREAT. I have a lfs that is willing to buy.:thanks:

Hey everyone im new to breeding fish and am looking to get started. Im trying to pick a type of fish to start with. I have 4 10 gal tanks only one is set up at the moment and will not be used for the breeding. Also have a 1.8 gal tank and will be growing brine shrimp to feed i recently purchased that equipment and eggs. I have heard guppies are very easy but i do not know how to find a breeding trio that is good to start with. If anyone has a set they would like to sell on the cheap im very interested! Im open to other kinds of fish than guppies also making a little money off them would be GREAT. I have a lfs that is willing to buy.:thanks:

Any guppy will breed with any guppy. Just get a male whose colors you like and 2-3 females and let your journey begin! Often times, you'll wind up with some pregnant females when you buy them too which starts you even faster. They really are simple fish to breed, since they don't need to "pair" up or anything. They just go for it lol.

Can they come from the a petsmart store? Also how do i tell if they are male or female?