Making the Leap: Low Light to High Light and CO2!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

emerald76

Aquarium Advice Addict
Here's my plead for help! I've no clue what I am doing, I read all the planted tank articles possible because I have an OBSESSION with this tank.
2013 AGA Aquascaping Contest - Entry #57
I must have it, or as close as I can get. So, operating on a bit of a tight budget (I'm a high school student under the age limit for hiring, so my income is an astounding $27 a week! Amazing!), I want to create this, without the sand falls and with maybe some wood, as I don't wan it to be exact- I want some of myself in the design also. Help! I see from the specs that I need T5 lamps, however fixtures and all to go with that are cost prohibitive. Where on earth do I get eight T5 lamps and fixture for less than $400? Do I need eight? If I turn down CO2 to 1 bubble a second, can I do 3-4 T5 lamps? Is the Fluval CO2 kit for tanks under 150 liters good, or is it missing important parts? Freshwater Planted Aquarium & Plant Care: Fluval Pressurized CO2 Kit
What substrate should I use? There's no way I'm shipping in bagfuls of ADA Aquasoil- would Ecocomplete work? The specs on the tank say Flourite, which is what I have now, but not nearly enough of it. Should I get more Flourite and cap with ecocomplete?
The plant list only has a few very very high light plants, so would they be ok with less light? I feel like there are eight lamps just so the tank could be prepped for competition.
If my LFS doesn't have the plants, where should I go? Besides specially designed scape tools, what can I use to plant and trim? Would long medical tweezers and forceps work with some long scissors?
About how many bags of substrate should I need? Can I keep my stock plan with all the stuff taking up room?

Thank you!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice