Molly swimming strangely

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kelli fish

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello my molly was swimming strangely earlier like in a current and vertical at points it calmed down alot now I also have a molly and platy that just very still on the top but was fine earlier am I over feeding as I am new to fish bit had a turtle :) p.s my first post

Sent from my GT-I8190N using Aquarium Advice mobile app

How big is the tank? Since you are new to fish I figure the tank is new as well? Have you read up on the nitrogen cycle? Has there been any temperature swings?

I believe your molly is suffering from the "molly shimmy" as they call it. It's pretty common, and since your platy is having issues as well my guess would be it's a water quality issue.

My molly and platy had the same kinda issue after being in an un-cycled tank for about a week. They started having issues after a temperature swing while dialing in a new heater, but I believe being in an uncycled tank played an equal part. I added 1tbs of aquarium salt per 5g and kept up on water changes, after a couple days they got better and are doing great now.

If you choose to add aquarium salt read up on it. It's a bit tricky when you have to change water daily to maintain an un-cycled tank. I plan on keeping it in my tank until my cycle completes, then slowly getting it out.

If your tank is new, and you have yet to do any water changes, do a 50% change asap.

Hello thanks for your reply.

I set my tank up for 2 weeks over xmas before adding fish.

My platy died through the night but do think I maybe bought a bad one.

My tank has been stocked for 2 weeks I have lost 4 fish now???

Today the molly is still swimming strangely like its drunk ???

All the other fish seem fine.

I have just now done tests as follows:

Ph 8 (to high but have put cattappa/almond leaf in)