my first attempt at a planted

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kygirl

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
This is my first time doing a 65 gal comunity/planted tank.

Well every time I go to a pet shop around here and I see a cool looking plant; I add it to my tank. My tank needs to be rearranged and The ball of christmas moss floating in there will be use for a moss wall this weekend. The substrate is flourite and I use excel and flourish.

The fish in the tank are 3 young discus, 3 young angels, 5 cardinal tetras,4 bumble bee gobies, 1 gold nugget pleco, 3 albino cory, 3 jeweled corys, 6 bamboo shrimp, 1 gold snail, 1 blue snail, and 4 longfin german blue rams all are living very peaceful and I do a water change once every other week.

Attachments

• 100_1699.jpg
    100_1699.jpg
    75.1 KB · Views: 110
  • rams.jpg
    rams.jpg
    71.2 KB · Views: 101
  • angel and discus.jpg
    angel and discus.jpg
    59.1 KB · Views: 86
also that looks like you have an anubias with the rhizome buried. that should be above the substrate

not sure what a rhizome is? I have been winging this whole thing. The anacharis is doing extremely well. It is growing more then the other plants I have to trim it back about every 3rd day.

I did buy a few of those seeds from walmart at the aquarium section and threw them in the tank. Just to try them out and they seem to be thriving too.

Only thing that is driving me nuts is the green algae blooms on the glass wall.

the anubias is the plant that is pictured with the blue rams the thick part that the roots come off of is called the rhizome and should not be buried or it will rott. Your tank looks nice and your fish are beautiful. I would watch the anacharis because it does have a tendency to melt with the use of excel.