My first (sparsely) planted tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pjb_1986

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all,

I'm new to the Aquarium game and the forum (have been lurking), but have a 20g long tank now set up and cycling. I have gone for some plants, but only a few. I am waiting on some Java Fern to attach to the two pieces of drift/bogwood, hopefully to hide the filter a little.

The tank measures 30x15x12 inches, but I do not have a heater (at this stage) so it is currently coldwater (varying between 18-21 degrees).

I have not decided on fish yet, I am wondering if I will be OK with a school of Danios or White Cloud Minnows in these temps?

Equipment List

• Clearseal 30x15x12 tank
  • Eheim Aquaball 130
  • (Plus another small internal filter not yet fitted that I may use, unbranded)
  • Pea Gravel substrate with a little Tetra Plant Complete underneath (as I wasn't sure on plants, but seem to have gone for things that will root in just gravel)
Plants

• Elodea Densa (Possibly Egeria Densa?)
  • Twisted Vallis (which is growing in the light I have)
  • Java Fern (on the way)

The light I have isn't great, so I am realistic in knowing I will only be able to have low light plants at this stage. The tank does get some indirect natural light from two windows, however.

Please have a look at my pics (not the best quality and it does look better in person) and see what you all think. One after planting and the other with the tank full.

Be kind! :)

Phil

Attachments

• 2012-09-26 19.06.22.jpg
    2012-09-26 19.06.22.jpg
    125.2 KB · Views: 145
  • 2012-09-26 21.11.35.jpg
    2012-09-26 21.11.35.jpg
    114.5 KB · Views: 160