My Foam Underlayment Dilemma

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jacky12

Aquarium Advice FINatic
The plan was to lay .5" foam under the 125 G & 75 G that should go on the stand this weekend. i have 4'x1' 1/2" Styrofoam around. The husband thinks it's a bad idea & will make placing the tanks on the stand far more difficult because he usually does it with the handyman & they slide the tanks after getting one end on the stand. This stand, BTW, is 38" tall. The husband also slides tanks inside our open 4'x8' trailer on top of big pieces of cardboard. It works out well. I have never used a stryo underlayment before, but was going to this time because Andy (as I recall) thinks it's useful.

Any ideas? It may be difficult to hire extra help.

Attachments

• IMG_0025[4959]foam.jpg
    IMG_0025[4959]foam.jpg
    35.4 KB · Views: 24
Are these standard, plastic braced tanks? If so nothing needs to be underneath. Rimless tanks are a different story.

I have polystyrene foam under all tanks to help remove any slight variation in the stand it is resting on. There is no guarantee the stand isn't slightly bowed, warped or has a small lump on it somewhere that can put uneven pressure on the base. Wood stands can swell in high humidity or if water gets on it. Even a drop of paint that is slightly higher than the rest of the stand can set hard and create a bump.

With foam on the stands, you normally lift the tank onto the stand and place it on the foam. The empty tank can usually be moved a bit on the foam to line it up properly. However, don't try to slide the tank all the way along the foam because it will destroy the foam.

This use of foam seems to be far more prevalent in the UK & Australia than in the US. I’m beginning to think the floors across the pond and down under are more crooked than some of our American politicians.