Need a bigger tank for my new Jewel Cichlid. Options?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Criason

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I bought her thinking she was one of the smaller varieties of cichlid, one that would ahve worked well with my 20G (high). After identifying her and reading up on them I have decided I need a bigger tank. In my area there is curently a 35G tank for sale at a good price. Everything I have read online says that I should have a 40G tank for her.

Is it possible to go with the 35G and for her to live a long happy life or should I go up the next step and get a 40G (or bigger) tank.

I am fairly new at this so any information you can provide I will be greatful for.

Thanks cmbtengnr43! How do they handle being solo? Doesn't stress them out like it would other types of fish? What about for activities for her to keep her from being bored?

Not really you could get her a bf and let them breed babies go for good money you could sell them to your local fish store jewels are aggressive but only super aggressive when breeding and only towards other fish but when they are spawning they turn super red and are beautiful! Not sure on ideas for other fish if you went with a bigger tank you could maybe add a friend of a different species

The store had another one that was about the same size. I dont know if it was male or female. From what I have read mine is a female ( red and blue tips on the top portion of the tail fin but not the bottom) . Is that a reliable way to determine sex? Only concern I would have about getting a second one is if they didnt pair up and mate then I would end up with 2 pretty but larger fish.