Need Advice on new tank setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JMedina

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello guys

I was recently researching on how to properly setup a saltwater tank. i visit a couple of shops and stores and they all tell me kind of different things. I know that with saltwater you cannot rush thing. I was thinking of making a reef tank, here are the dimensions: 30-3/16"L x 12-1/2"W x 18-3/4"H. I was planning on buying a 70g filter since the tank i have is a 29-30 gallon. What lighting should i use LEDs ? About the water changes weekly i don't mind. I'm also wanna do the cycle properly, i'm new to this hobby and eager to learn about anything you guys tell me.

Thanks for helping me guys

Ok, here are the list of thing i would be buying in the next week for my first SW Tank, if there are better thing or thing that i missed please tell me. thanks

1. 29g Tank (30-3/16"L x 12-1/2"W x 18-3/4"H)
2. Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
3. 2 or 1 Hydor Koralia Nano 425
4. Live sand
5. Mix salt
6. Digital Thermostat

Last edited:
For lighting there are too many options to list and they are kind of a personal taste. For other things you will need are power heads, heater, skimmer is optional but nice to have, for the hob filter I would get either the aqua clear 70 or 110 they are big and there are lots of mods for them, check out inTank media baskets to see what I mean.
Edit: for the cycle the best way is to use live rock and add an ammonia source and wait it out

I already got a heater, and as for hob filter i was considering the aquaclear 70 and the marineland emp 400. Does protein skimmer are necessary? Because i read somewhere that if i put a skimmer i don't need hob filter. But i dont mind the weekly water change so for now u was thinking on buying later. As power heads what would you recommend me