Need diagram of sump

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Toomanyfish

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey everyone~

As the subject line says, I need a diagram of a sump. Not the drilled kind either, but rather the kind with the tubing.....
I have a 90g that I want to link a 20g sump to so I can put all the junk in there, I'm tired of looking at the heater, filter intake,etc.....I also want to make part of it a refugium. It will also enable me to consolidate my 20g's rocks and fish in the 90g. (Trying to cut back on the number of tanks here). The problem is that I'm only somewhat mechanically inclined so a diagram would be of more use to me.
Thanks for any help!

sump diagram

This is a VERY simple diagram of a sump. Sorry for the lack of details...I'm a lousy artist. Blue is water going from the overflow to the sump...red going back up. If you can give us a better idea of exactly what you want, maybe we can come up with a more detailed plan. I'm not sure about a refugium...you may run short of room depending on what equipment you want to put in there. Also, remember that the sump must be able to contain the water that will flow into it in the event of a power/pump failure.
Logan J

That gives me a good starting point Loganj! Let's see, in the sump would be a submersible heater, skimmer (how does that work with the water level so low?), and I would want enough room to put a bag of carbon in there if I wanted or needed to. I figured that half the tank could be for filtration and the other half for the refugium. This would be a 20 high if that helps at all....although if you thought a standard 20 would be better, I could switch some tanks around....
The pump in there, is that like a pond pump?