Need planted aquarium advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
G

I'm not new to aquarium keeping, but I want to do one of those super-cool heavily planted tanks. I'll be starting from scratch and was looking for advice. I haven't bought one thing yet, but the tank will be at least a 55 (trying to talk the wife into a 70 or larger).
Anybody know any:
good books?
Magazines?
other websites? (sorry ffreak)
personal experinces to share regarding lights, substrates, fitration?

Anything would be appreciated, Thanks.

Hey dont be sorry.

I must say that in the area of planted tanks we are a little thin on info. But hey over time it will fill in. If you should find good resources please add them to the links section.

Advise on planted tanks

Hi not that I am an expert on planted tanks, But this is what my son and I did with his 55 gallon tank. He has a 2.5" bed using Flourite and medium gravel, Filtration is a 304 Fluval cannister with the Bio stones and foam pads. Carbon added occasionally (as it pulls nutrients from the tank). A 201 Hagen power head on a timer for 2 hrs. a day to clean the scum off the top of the tank water, Also a Carbo plus Generator ( CO2 )set on line two, Lighting is 4 24" Trito bulbs running 10 hrs. a day. Also root tab fertilizer every water change (3 weeks lightly siphoned)
He has great succsess with this setup his Amazon sword covers better then a third of his tank, Vals. & Micro grass are spreading all over the tank, His water sprite has to be pruned every two weeks. I hope this has helped. EMS 503

Any chance for some pics? We don't have any pics of planted F/W aquaria. I personally would love to see some pics of your tank. :D

Re: Advise on planted tanks

EMS503,

EMS503 said:
Lighting is 4 24" Trito bulbs running 10 hrs. a day.