Need some advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tropicalmackdaddy

Aquarium Advice Freak
hello unknown friends!!! i have recently found a 10g tank and would like to put it to use. im new to the whole aguarium thing and i would like some questions answered. i would like to start a heavily planted tank with some dario darios in it, and i was wondering:
what type of filter is recommended?
i understand they need live food, so what kind? and how can i keep these live food(s)?
do i need to add fertilizer even if i use ecocomplete?
what plants would the little cuties like the best? i was going to use these:
1 brazilian pennywort
2 java fern
2 java moss
anubias nana (on lava rock)
3 water sprite
10 dwarf narrow-leaf sagittaria subulata
1 crypt walkeri
and some frogbit.
is this tomuch? are they incompatible? ive been digging around the web doin the best i could until i came upon this website.
THANKS so much id really appreciate any advice. i would just like the best for my fishies!! :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

what kind of lighting do you have? plant's growth depends on it and danios* can live with any plants.

also, that's waaaayyyyy too many plants for a 10g. you don't need to get 3 watersprite cuz they grow really quickly and all you need to do it cut it and replant it if you want to have more. you don't need that much dwarf sag either unless you want to carpet your gravel right in the beginning. frogbit tends to hog all the light and make it pretty shady cuz they float and take up all the light at the top.

as for the filter any filter fit for a 10g would be fine and don't get the danios yet until you've cycled your tank. you could easily learn how to cycle by googling it lol.

welcome! and i hope you learn to love this hobby as much as the rest of us! any more questions will be taken in as well.