Neon tetras with white spot/fin rot

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bluie17

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Full disclaimer I am a complete novice to fish, I am more than capable with mammals but my knowledge of our aquatic friends is severely lacking.

I have a 10 gallon aquarium with a marineland biowheel75 filter. The tank has been setup since December 20. We added 5 neon tetras at the beginning of March, and recently added 2 nerite snails and one young bristlenose pleco 2 weeks ago.

The tank parameters (using API master test kit):
Temp: 78 - 80 F
pH: 7.6
Ammonium: 0.25 ppm
Nitrites: 0 ppm
Nitrates: 40 ppm
These have been the parameters for the last 3 weeks. Weekly the top level of sand is vacuumed and a 30% water change performed. Tap water is added after being treated with API StressCoat.

Last Thursday a cleaning was performed and all fish were doing well. Friday night noted that all neon tetras had a grainy substance all over their body, but we're eating well and seemed otherwise I'm unbothered. After some research thought they were affected with white spot, possibly from the introduction of the pleco a few weeks ago, although he does not appear to have any visible spots. Saturday morning one of the tetras was unable to swim correctly and died within an hour. We purchased Ich guard and treated the tank per instructions. Today another tetra passed but the remaining three have greatly improved from the spots but now have significant damage to all fins. I feel so bad for them, not sure if Ich can cause this or if we potentially have something else going or the treatment has weakened them? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• PXL_20210522_144818199.MP.jpg
    PXL_20210522_144818199.MP.jpg
    191.8 KB · Views: 37
  • PXL_20210522_144750437.jpg
    PXL_20210522_144750437.jpg
    214.7 KB · Views: 35