new 10 gal-dont know what to do

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mrmarine

Aquarium Advice Freak
hey im new to fresh water and i just got a 10 gallon tank and i have some questions

1-what do you do to cycle,how long does it take,do you need ro water or tap water then dechlorinator??

2- can you put sand in like crushed coral or just stick to the stones??

3- do you need alot of light?

4-do you have to vaccum the substrate or can you just stir it up and let the filter get it??

5- how often for water changes??

Thanks,

Mr. Marine

not sure how the correst way is to cycle nut i got so minnows and did it that way (i know its wrong) tap water with decloranator will work

stick to the gravel

depends on fish but at least 15 watts

vaccum gravel

i do a 1 to 2 gallon water change weekly depends on water quality

mrmarine said:
1-what do you do to cycle,how long does it take,do you need ro water or tap water then dechlorinator??

First, Half and half for the water. I cycled my planted tank by letting it sit for a week. That ony works with plants though.

2- can you put sand in like crushed coral or just stick to the stones??

I have stones and they look a ton better than my crushed coral.

3- do you need alot of light?

For a planted tank you need a special bulb. Other than that, probably not but it depends on the fish.

4-do you have to vaccum the substrate or can you just stir it up and let the filter get it??

Vacuum. The harmful stuff could bug your fish then.

5- how often for water changes??

After the tank is running, the end of the first two months. After that, on a monthly basis. Good luck.

hey! Welcome to our side... lets see what we can tackle here...