New 5 gal tank for betta need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jleigh726

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,
I am totally new to fish and aquariums and need advice on how to do this properly. I have done research and have gotten so many conflicting things that I feel I'm back to square one. I don't like the idea of "winging it" with a fish soul so I want to provide the best environment from the beginning. Here's what I have so far:
5 gallon marineland tank with a filter
black gravel
2 silk plants
1 driftwood like (fake) decoration
thermometer
heater (coming tomorrow--Hydro 25 w)
testing kit for Ph, ammonia, nitrites, nitrates
Omega one pellets and Omega one freeze-dried bloodworms
I have filled the tank with 1/2 tap water (treated for chlorine) and 1/2 distilled water because the blend had the ph at 7. However, the ph is now 7.6

I need to know what else I need to do before introducing the betta to the tank? I had read that a 1/2 teaspoon of aquarium salt was good but the IFS said no, not to do that. Furthermore, I am struggling with where to purchase him from. The IFS will have some exotic varieties in 2 weeks but I don't necessarily care if I have the most "exotic" kind. I like the idea of "rescuing" one from Petco as they all seem so sad in their little cups but my husband is in favor of getting one from the IFS because he thinks they will be of "better, more healthy" stock.

Also, I keep reading about cycling, do I need to do that before I get the betta?

Any advice is very welcome and please don't hold back on everything because I am very new and will not be offended if you assume I know nothing. Thanks again!!