New and completely inexperienced

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

latashalaine

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a new 10 gal tank my boys got for Christmas. I have no knowledge whatsoever and have a few questions that I pray someone can answer.

1st, I am thinking of cycling my tank by using a friends bacteria bed. How do I need to go about that? Do I just squeeze the bio filter water into a jar and pour it into my tank?

2nd, I would like to purchase Zebra Danios, at least 1 guppie, and at least 1 red dalmatian Molly. How many of this combination could fit comfortably in my tank?

3rd, I want to get at least 2 live plants. Any suggestions for the type of fish I will have?

Thanks!

I have a new 10 gal tank my boys got for Christmas. I have no knowledge whatsoever and have a few questions that I pray someone can answer.

1st, I am thinking of cycling my tank by using a friends bacteria bed. How do I need to go about that? Do I just squeeze the bio filter water into a jar and pour it into my tank?

2nd, I would like to purchase Zebra Danios, at least 1 guppie, and at least 1 red dalmatian Molly. How many of this combination could fit comfortably in my tank?

3rd, I want to get at least 2 live plants. Any suggestions for the type of fish I will have?

Thanks!

Take a piece of filter media and insert it in your filter to cycle. Remember to provide ammonia.
Zebra danios are too active for a ten gallon and mollies too big. I would suggest two male guppies, 1 male platy, and a small school of ember tetras or chili rasboras, no less than five and no more than 7.

Welcome to AA!