New; attempting 10g planted tank for classroom

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

greenseagirl

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi!
I have been teaching for several years now and am at long last going to have, as of this August, a classroom of my own.

I love gardening and fish and had this idea that it would be terrific if I could manage to set up an aquarium over the summer to have in my classroom to interest the students, create authentic learning opportunities (ecology! botany! chemistry! biology! let's get curious and write about it!) and create a little nook of tranquility amidst the wackiness that is 7th grade.

I was fortunate enough to find on craigslist a mature, 10 gallon tropical aquarium for sale complete with fish, plants, gravel, lights, tacky decorations, etc.

I believe the tank is very overstocked (Betta + 2 zebra danios + 2 orange platys + black neon tetra), so I have set up a second 10 gallon aquarium, planted the plants I could find at the local fish places and hope to cycle the tank so that it can receive a number of the fish for the greater health and comfort of all. I have put some of the original tacky decorations into this tank in the hopes of helping beneficial bacteria to colonize.

Meanwhile, I love having the tank at home, and am especially fond of Mr. Betta.

Has anyone else maintained an aquarium in a classroom? Does anyone have recommendations in terms of books/magazines/articles/literature I could include in the classroom library for curious students? Thoughts about a filter for the second tank (10 gallon, planted)?

I will have more questions soon...

It's great to be here!

Petsmart has a bunch of literature on aquarium basics in flyer form that may work out best for what you are doing.