New Black Molly has spots

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MagnumVP

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Have a new 10g tank (about a month old) and I've really enjoyed so far. It's been a blast to watch and maintain the tank with water changes and semi daily testing.

However on Sunday I added a Black Molly to the mix and yesterday I came home to it being covered in white dots. After reasearching it (cause I'm new to fresh water tanks) I fear it may be ich? I immediately pulled the Black Molly out of the tank (even though it's too late if it's ich) and placed it in a spare 1g that I had.

None of the other fish show any dots or any other signs of it.

This morning I woke up and the dots were less but now it looks like white fuzz is around it's mouth.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• Molly.jpg
    Molly.jpg
    204.1 KB · Views: 1,188
The white fuzz could be from swimming against the glass in the 1g, but could be fungus too. If it's fungus then you've been hit by a double whammy.

Unfortunately by the time you can normally see Ich it can be too late. What fish/inverts/real plants do you have in each tank?

Depending upon what fish you have (some other fish etc do not like salt) you will need to buy freshwater medical salt from the fish store. Raise the temperature of your tank to 86f gradually and add (not directly into the tank, take tank water out in a cup, stir it in then pour it back in) salt to your tank. I would add 5 flat TEAspoons on day one, then 5 more on day two, this should give you a salinity of around 1.005 for a 10 gallon and should alter the osmotic pressure enough to kill the parasite over about a week at that salinity. Some others will provide finer details. :)

We have;

3 Neon Tetras
2 Guppies
2 Big Belly Molly's (one is the black with the spots)
2 Frogs
3 Ghost Shrimp