New lights, a few questions...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

N757QQ

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone,

First, a few required details:

Tank: 55g
Filter: Fluval 406 that was just set up Friday night & an Aqueon 55/75 that is still attached & will stay there for another month
Lighting: was standard full spectrum 18" aquarium lights, now a 48" custom light I just finish putting together with 2x T8 32w 6500K bulbs.
Substrate is sand
I use Flourish root tabs but they are the rock ones, not sure if they make a sand specific one...

I am new to the aquarium world. I have had my tank up & running for about a month with fish, about 2 & 1/2 including cycle time & 1 anubias nana. I purchased two amazon swords from a lfs & have them in the tank now with 15 Male peacock & hap cichlids.

The cichlids are so far playing nice with the plants. The question I have is that the Anubias is apparently doing well, it stays green, but is now growing much, which I am sure is because it is tied to a rock & the lights have been very weak even for a low light.

My amazon swords are turning brown & in rough shape, thus the new lights. I have pulled away all of the sand & put their roots in some rock but there is still sand in the area. This was done to help with the flourish tabs. I have dosed API leaf zone, but I think it is causing my Nitrates to go through the roof, as I will do a wc & then dose it & get a reading a few hours later of 60+ ppm. So I am not dosing it any longer, especially with the 15 cichlids that are in the tank currently, I certainly do not want to do them harm.

So, I know the lighting is still a bit weak for the Amazons, but should I cut the brown & browning leaves off?
If so, how far down the stem?
Should I make sure the roots that are floating get put back in the substrate?