New plants and driftwood. Idk whats happening!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Grrriph

Aquarium Advice Regular
Alright so I recently just got plants for my aquarium after buying a 2x36 watt Bright Kit from ah supply and I was wondering what's happening to my water. This is my first time posting and am new to the site, so any help would be sweet. Thanks.

image-706275339.jpg

First day with new plants and driftwood

image-1711639658.jpg

4 days later

I think its the change in water color they're talking about. I've no knowledge of driftwood but I think ur piece of wood hasn't been treated to be underwater. Tannins I think is what they call what's being released.

You didn't boil the DW and the tannins are leaking in the water, it's not a big deal but if you don't like the color water changes is your answer.

Alright so I recently just got plants for my aquarium after buying a 2x36 watt Bright Kit from ah supply and I was wondering what's happening to my water. This is my first time posting and am new to the site, so any help would be sweet. Thanks.

View attachment 62752

First day with new plants and driftwood

View attachment 62753

4 days later

Looks like tannins... It's normal and harmless to fish. Pwc's will help, but you just have to wait for the tannins to leach out, could take a few weeks to months.

From experience I can tell u there's zero point taking the wood back out, just let it leech the tannins and keep ontop of water changes and it will go after a few months. The water will take ages to go clear either with or without the wood. Some suggest carbon to help it clear quicker, but I found it Diddnt help a great deal. Just better to run with it, do pwc's if it gets too dark and after a while it will be pretty much clear again.