New Saltwater tank, bare minimum set up.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

logancollins

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey guys I am new to the aquarium world. I just bought a 36g bow fish tank. It has all the stuff for freshwater, but freshwater fish are not really something I want. So what is the bare minimum I need to have 5 - 6 saltwater fish? I dont want corals or anything, and live rock is real expensive. I read live rock is not neccessary for a fish only tank. Is that true?

Anyway, this what I got so far -

Live Sand - 30 lbs.
Good filter (so I was told)
Light (came on the freshwater tank, seems really bright)
Cheap skimmer (ebay =[)
A saltwater starter kit - Red Sea Marine Salt Water Aquarium Starter Kit at PETCO
Tank w/ stand
A heater

Is that the bare minimum I need to have just a few saltwater fish for a small tank? I really am on a small budget. I got everything listed above for about $200 total with the tank and everything.

I was told this was a great site for information and I really appreciate all of your help!

P.S. How many fish do you think I could have in a set up like this? An inch per gallon like freshwater?