New set up

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Greenpants200

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey whats up all, this is my first post on the forum, so hi. I'm new to saltwater aquariums so I figured I'd ask around to see what everybody had to say. I'm looking to get a saltwater tank set up within the next few months. I've had a freshwater aquarium for a while now, everything is going and has been going fine. Anyways, I've been falling for lionfish pictures all over the net. I'd like to get a smaller one that grows to around 7" or 8" But, I'd also like some other fish in the tank (2 or 3 at least.) What size tank would I need to house a fish that big and the others that have to be near his size, or at least significantly bigger than his mouth? :wink: Also, any suggestions as far as compatability?

The bigger the better for salt water I think but I think a 50 would do fine....But im not sure cause one of my friends has a freshwater tank w. 2 big oscars in it and he says its to small.

55 Gallon is definitely too small. I'm planning on keeping around 25-40" of fish total. And I know saltwater is much less tolerant in regards to the "fish to water" ratio.

xIHaKIx said:
The bigger the better for salt water I think but I think a 50 would do fine....But im not sure cause one of my friends has a freshwater tank w. 2 big oscars in it and he says its to small.

Making a suggestion that you are not sure or experienced to make is not appreciated in this forum. If you cannot provide knowledgeable assistance, do not respond.