New Setup Advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jschweg

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all, I just began to establish my first aquarium, I'm very new to fishkeeping, just had a few questions/concerns.

The tank is a 10g. I had wanted to go larger, but due to the space requirements and the size of my apartment, it just wasn't possible. Along with that I have a Whisper 100 Power Filter, 50W heater, and a standard fluorescent hood.

1) Currently the only fish in the tank are 4 Corys for the break-in period. I've read that these fish are pretty tough and should do okay until the cycle is over in a month. Should I consider adding any additional fish before the month is over?

2) The tank has been running now for a few days, the water is slightly cloudy. I've read that this is normal for a new tank and that it will pass.

3) I would really like to place some real plants in the tank. The floor of the tank is entirely medium sized gravel. I'm looking for a VERY low maintenance plant that doesn't need much more than placing it in the tank and leaving the light on for a certain period every day. Any suggestions?

Well your tank has just about hit the ammonia spike. Don't add any more fish until the cycle finishes. Change the water daily (partial water changes) to keep the ammonia from dangerous levels.

As for low level light plants try: hornwort, hygrophilia, java moss and java fern. These plants can grow however so fast that they will need pruning every month or so. Also anubias and they can be left floating.

I would not recommend adding any more fish until you are sure your tank is fully cycled. Get either Marineland's BIO-Spira or Seachem's Stability to speed the process. BIO-Spira works immediately to cycle the tank. I also suggest getting something to test your tank for Ammonia and Nitrite levels to make sure your tank is cycled.