New tiger barbs sick

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

khamm6

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone! I’m looking for some help regarding 6 new tiger barbs I bought a few days ago. I bought them at petsmart, which isn’t ideal but it’s the only store near me. They’re pretty small and I have them in a 25 gallon tank with 2 mystery snails. The tank cycled for about a week before I put anything in. Anyway, they all seemed fine and energetic the first couple of days, but yesterday I noticed them becoming less active and losing their appetite. This morning they wouldn’t eat at all and stay in one area of the tank. I also noticed them starting to flash on objects yesterday. I checked my water parameters and they’re all fine. Is it early signs of ich? Is it flukes? I’m relatively new to identifying fish diseases, but I’d really like to get these guys feeling better soon!

Last edited:
Here’s a couple different pictures of them if it helps at all!IMG_6677.jpgIMG_6679.jpg

What does “ the tank cycled for about a week” mean? How did you cycle the aquarium and what do you use to test? And what are your water parameters?

What does “ the tank cycled for about a week” mean? How did you cycle the aquarium and what do you use to test? And what are your water parameters?

Hi! So I set up the tank about a week or so in advance, and used Stability and Stress-zyme to get it going. I put the filter in with just a sponge and no carbon filter. I also use wonder shells. I put the heater in during that time as well. Upon getting home from school, my water parameters were:

Nitrates: 0
Nitrites: 0.5
pH: 6
Temp: 78