New to mbuna

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

herp_mommy

Aquarium Advice Addict
So I thought about setting up a 30gal cichlid tank. But there weren't enough possibilities. So I've decided to go for a 75gal mbuna tank. I'm new to these fish so I don't know where to start on my stock list. Any ideas?

Any ideas at all? There are so many mbuna to choose from. I suggest reading through some of the profiles at www.cichlid-forum.com/profiles . They have pictures of most any cichlid imaginable. A 75g gives you a lot of options. I would suggest sticking with mbuna and not throwing haps and peacocks in to the mix.

If you don't already know, a lot of rocks are a necessity. 3 or more hiding spots per fish will keep aggression to a minimum. You also want to aim for 3-6 females for every male. This also keeps aggression down.

I would also suggest what rookie said . Alot of Mbuna out there to choose from. Yellow Labs, Red Zebras, Kenyi are just a few of the more common mbuna

Thanks. I'll look at the profiles. I was also going to get cichlid sand and Texas holey rock for hiding spaces

PFS works fine, and is much cheaper than those marketed towards aquariums. THR is also expensive, but some prefer the look. I like the more dark brown rock, so mine came from a creek. One thing I've learned is a lot of money is made off african cichlids. Everyone buys the special products made specifically for them, at a very expensive price. But, it's your tank. Set it up how you want it, not how anybody else wants it ;)