new to saltwater new tank cleaning help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cooma7

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all,

i just came across this site, and am probably going to spend the rest of the day browsing it :p

Ok to the question.

I am new to saltwater and just bought a Aqua Mercury Barrier Reef 400 (you all will probably not know what the **** that is since i cannot find ANY info on the internet, and the fact i am in australia!)

Anyway it is a All in one reef tank like the biocubes. actually, ill give you the specs as it may help, or help in the future.

Tank = 37L (around 14g?)
hood lights = 2x 24w TC-L (one blue, one white) VERY BRIGHT!
refugium light = 5w TC-D
Filter water pump = 420L/H, max water head : 0.7m (i dont know what the last part means) :)
skimmer pump = 420L/H, max water head : 0.7
moon light = 3x 15mA LED
fan = 1.9w
Substrate is just very fine crushed coral, and i have 1 live rock in there.

ok NOW to the question

I was at the aquarium shop, and got a REALLY good deal on this tank (just under half price) which ended up costing me $180au instead of $330
because this tank was just sitting there EXTREAMLY filthy with water in it and everything. (you couldnt even see in the glass as it was covered in a brown algie)

so i bought it, he gave it a quick clean and i took it home.
I put new water in it (bought from the shop) waited for all the crap to settle and it looked awesome!
but after a few days the algie (i cannot spell algie i am guessing) started to form again, over the top layer of substrate like a blanket. starting over the glass and now my rock also has ALOT of brown stuff all over it too.

i was wondering if it would be trying to cycle some more or some thing (this tank was running for a few months before i got it so should be setup ready to go)
or is it just absolutly filthy and need a really good clean?