New to shrimp

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

endowarrior21

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all I've been keeping fish for over 30 yrs but I would love to start a shrimp only tank. So far I have a 20L that I think would be a great shrimp tank. Plus I have a sponge filter that I could use and a 200w heater. I would love to plant it too. But no extra lights so need to get that. Now here are my questions.

1.) What is the best plants for shrimp?

2.) What substrate is best for them?

3.) What food do they need?

4.) What water parms do they need my tap water is very hard I use Prime as a water treatment for my other tanks is that fine for shrimp?

5.) What shrimp should I start out with?

Thank you for your time

This is my snail/nursery tank. IMG_7706.jpg

I started a 10g QT tank last year and ended up using it as a hatchery for my mystery snail eggs. Sand bottom, HOB filter and all the young plants I was growing but had removed from my main tank. Once most of the snails were off to new homes I found a person on Craigslist selling RCS for $1 each. By the time I contacted her she was out. But we began correspondence and she and I swapped plants and I gave her some snails. A month or so later she gave me 10 shrimp about 1/2 long. This was October 2016. In December I decided to move the nursery from the 10g into the 20g in the photo. All of the plants and rock moved over into the new tank, new sand but a mature canister filter with prefilter sponge. At that time the female shrimp were carrying eggs. I now have lots of shrimplettes running around.

IMG_7786.jpg