New to sw, considering 3g nano.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sssea

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello friends!
Like the title says, I am brand new to SW and want to make the transition from FW. I've been looking into having a 3G nano with only beginner corals and maybe an invert.
I'm aware that tiny tanks are notorious for being difficult to keep stable parameters, does this change at all without the addition of fish? I'm not really interested in keeping sw fish and don't have any space to spare, so large tanks are not really an option. I really love the look of nano reef and through my research I believe I'm capable of keeping one.
Since I'm a total freshie, I'm not really sure where to start this adventure. Thats where you guys come in!

1. What exactly do I need?
Tank, filter, sand and salt mix are obvious.
Should I start with live or base rock?
How many lbs?
Is a powerhead necessary in such a small tank or would it cause too much flow?
2. What lighting do I need?
The kit I've been looking at (picotope) comes with a clamp on cfl (9w 50/50, I have no idea what that means.)
Is this enough to sustain beginner corals?
3. What are the best/hardiest corals to start with?
Should I get frags?
4. I have no idea whatsoever about trace elements. I assume they're in the salt mix and I don't necessarily have to add anything?
Is there anything I need to test for besides salinity and normal params?
I don't have an rodi setup, how necessary is this in a tiny tank?
Are there other ways to get water?
5. I don't really know a whole lot about mixing water for pwcs.
How do I do this?
I know there's some rule about topping off with freshwater due to evaporation so you don't raise the salinity. Other than that, I'm a little clueless.
6. I've been toying with the idea of an invert. Will this change much about the set up or maintenance?