new to the fish world and loving it

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

paulbrear

Aquarium Advice Regular
my name is paul from hull england !! recieved a 40 litre starter kit for christmas as a family thing had it set up since 28 dec 2010 now have two mikey mouse platys (cute little things)very excited about the whole idea just waiting is the hardest thing. feeding is the only thing i'm having trouble with getting lots of conflicting info so help would be nice !!

Hi! I'm still learning too, but fish don't need much food. Their tummies are as big as their eyes! So tiny bits, and not even daily. Also, less food=less poop, which is less you have to clean. Is the tank cycled? Congrats on your new hobby!

Just wait till you get multiple tank syndrome!

Regarding the food, what are you feeding them and what exactly is the problem? are they not eating? water turning cloudy? I don't know if you can get it in england but here in the US there is a fish food by hikari for small fish, like tetras, it's really small pellets that fits into their mouths maybe that would help.

Welcome to the hobby but beware it's addictive =)

Welcome to fishkeeping, and congratulations on your fishes! Platies are sweet little guys. If you have a male/female pair, you may have little fishes soon!

I am echoing dora'sfishtank in asking what you did to cycle your aquarium. Many people get very bad advice from their fish stores, so it would help if you explain exactly what you did to get it ready for fish....just to rule out problems from the start.

Did you have specific questions about feeding?

I love to hear people so happy about their aquariums. :) If you ever want to post a picture, we'd love to see it!

Welcome to AA!

Glad you got in to the hobby! Like XimeD said, MTS (Multiple tank syndrome) should kick in, Before you know it, You will have 10 aquariums :)