New to the Hobby: Setup and Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ziggs180

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello Everybody, I'm new to the hobby, and I'm Getting my Aquarium very soon. I've done plenty of Research but i still have a few questions that need answering, mostly about Specific fish. I Can only afford a 30 Gallon tank at the moment, so im stuck with a low diversity.

I've deicded to go with a fishless cycling after reading the many benefits of it, and the survivability of the fish increases. I dont have a friend with a tank, so i cant really get stuff from them to seed my tank. What is better for begining the cycle, using fish food or pure ammonia? And how long will it take without being able to Seed the tank with bacteria?

As for the fish themselves, I plan on getting (5) Red Tetras, (5)Glowlight Tetras, an Otocinclus or two. My next question is: my Girlfriend wants to have a Betta in the tank (she thinks there cute). However i've heard they can get aggresive toward long tailed fish, and other fish tend to nip at them. Would a Betta be comptatible with the other fish i've listed? If they arent, Would a few Guppys instead of the Betta be good?

Ziggs180 said:
Hello Everybody, I'm new to the hobby, and I'm Getting my Aquarium very soon. I've done plenty of Research but i still have a few questions that need answering, mostly about Specific fish. I Can only afford a 30 Gallon tank at the moment, so im stuck with a low diversity.

I've deicded to go with a fishless cycling after reading the many benefits of it, and the survivability of the fish increases. I dont have a friend with a tank, so i cant really get stuff from them to seed my tank. What is better for begining the cycle, using fish food or pure ammonia? And how long will it take without being able to Seed the tank with bacteria?