newbie here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jae5005

Aquarium Advice Newbie
wats up everyone. i am new to this site and actually new to forum posting lol . I am also very new at this aquarium thing but am extremely intersted in growing in this hobby. Right now i have a 55g tank with sand substrate, some slate rocks and some other rocks im not sure what they are lol and a 400 marineland filter. This will be a african cichlid tanks since i love these fishes..right now i have had the tank set up for about 12days. after 5 days i did add 4 cichlids to get the tank to start cycling since i could not find ammonia to buy ANYWHERE where i live and my LFS told me to add some fish to kick start the cycling. Now 7 days with fish , mu Ammonia is at .25ppm, my Nitrite is at 5ppm and Nitrate is at 10ppm. Ph is at about 8.2... well thats about it.. but i am wondering when the Nitrites will go down :/

Water change! ASAP! 5ppm Nitrite is INSANE, and cycling with fish is pretty hard for a newbie :/
If you can return the fish (Not always possible)
use thishttp://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006MP4QG6/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_dp_ss_1?pf_rd_p=1944687442&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B00DCYL4V0&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=00760JSSEVW3G5YX06RS

if not, water changes, probably 50% a day. I know it sounds harsh, but 4 cichlids is a lot, and to keep them alive you need to keep parameters good :l