Newbie looking to start a planted tank...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zookeeper23

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all!
I am a complete newbie looking to turn our 37g tall into a nice live planted community tank. I have attached a photo. It currently has 5 small cichlids in it who are about to be re-homed to my friends 125g cichlid tank. This tank has literally just been existing for the past 5 years now and now I have the time to play with it. I want it to be very low tech and I guess that is part of my question. How low tech can it be? My husband really like things like dwarf baby tears and shorter grasses.

Questions...

-Can I use the old fluorescent strip I have on it and buy plant friendly bulbs?
-Also this is a "tall" will that GREATLY affect the lighting needs?
-In our betta planted tanks we used Eco complete planted aquarium substrate, is this good stuff? They plants in the betta tanks are doing well. We have 2.6g Fluval Specs.
-Can I get by successfully not having Co2 set ups? Can I just use the bottled Co2 additives and be successful?
-I have a wet dry filter on this tank is that ok for a planted tank or any reason it wouldn't be ok?

That is all I can think of right now. Any other help or advice is welcomed. I don't want to dive in without knowing what to expect.

Candice

Attachments

• 20150208_191450.jpg
    20150208_191450.jpg
    161.2 KB · Views: 62
Thats a yes to all your questions.

As for the plants that light can support, anubias, java moss, java fern, crypts, and bolbitis.

It will be a very low light level tank unless you invest some more money in the light system.

The bettas