Nitrite spike!!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hannah67654

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone could do with some help I’ve been keeping Fish for many years and thought I knew best!!! I have 120 L angelfish breeding tank and I had a huge white hydra outbreak. So I took all the gravel out cleaned everything down and put them back in but foolishly I had forgotten that I’ve only recently put a new external filter on the tank only been running for 10 days and now I have a huge nitrite spike!!!! I’ve been fighting this for nearly a week now doing daily water changes of 30 to 50% dosing the tank with microbe-lift special blend and microbe-lift nitrite-out I also put some floss from another tank and placed it in the canister. But it doesn’t seem to be helping at all any advice would be appreciative? And before anyone is negative I know I messed up big-time and I’m trying to solve the problem I don’t need any negatives thank you in advanced

Without a cycle the only way to reduce nitrite is through water changes.

Aquarium salt is a treatment for nitrite poisoning.

Try to reduce feeding to slow down nitrite production.

Try and get some established filter media for your filter or add a biological booster eg. Dr tims one and only. I wouldnt recommend Seachem Stability as people often see elevated nitrite with its use.

Adding some plants will take up ammonia and therefore reduce nitrite production.

How are the fish? How elevated is your nitrite?

Edit: i don't think the microbe lift special lift is a biological booster. I think its more like API stresszyme that consumes detritus rather than aids the nitrification process.