Noob planter.. some advice?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nycfatcow

Aquarium Advice Freak
hey guys.. i'm fairly new to the whole planting scene but i've been reading a lot about the topic... i wanted to do something small and nice, so this is what i have planned for my tank....

12G jbj nano cube
DIY CO2 soda bottle
flourite substrate
and this tank has 24 watts of lighting.. so itll be 2 watts per gallon...and i believe it mite be a 50/50 bulb so i mite have to change that to a daytime bulb...

in the future when everything is settle im planning on to add like 8-10 cardinals.... do you think the bio load is too much? with some cherry shrimp...what plants do you recommend for me to start of with?

i was planning on getting http://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/auction/auction.cgi/?liveplants&1180855804
does the tank have to set up and cycled before you add plants in..?

sorry for all the questions... but id rather do it right once than learn from my mistakes :)

Your setup looks fine except for the light. Definitely get the daylight bulb. Without it, you'll be severly limited in plant selection. Even with the 24w daylight bulb, you still have lower light and will be limited in selection.

Your fish/shrimp selection looks fine to me. Its on the higher side of a bioload, but it will be fine, especially with the tank planted.