Noob Wants a Planted Pico..!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Big Tex

Aquarium Advice Addict
Well my first post was a bomb so here it goes again,

if its possible i want to do a planted tank in my 4g cube and I want to make it a planted tank with shrimp that's it, how hard is it? What do I need? I have about 4lbs of dry reef sand will it work for plants? I need answers people this will be in my master bathroom so it needs to be awesome looking and stay super clean because i have a mean case of clean tank syndrome lol all suggestions and advice is appreciated, this will be my first freshwater tank in a while so be gentle lol (y)

this is what im aiming for guys, remember i have no experience with planted tanks so i dont know what plants these are or if this is the expert level stuff idk but its simple and looks elegant enough for my master bath lol can shrimp live in a tank like this? any tiny fish? neon tetras? help me out!

attachment.php

Last edited:
I don't think you would want to to use reef sand if it is specifically for reef aquariums...but you could easily go out and get some black sand from petco or white sand if you want...then you would need some fairly good lighting depending on the plants...I can only positively Id the anubia attached to the drift wood and I would guess that it is anubias nana petite...but other than that this should be a fairly easy and manageable tank

wel it was live sand at one point and now its dried and cured, its basically dry aragonite sand now, but ill use whatever i need to for the plants to grow in!

where can i get the plants? petco? pet smart? id hate to support chains but thats the only local place ive seen em at :/

on a side note how do i know theyre healthy plants?

Two things I would not do:

Have a tank, especially a pico, in a bathroom.