Noob: why are my plants fading?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lectraplayer

Aquarium Advice FINatic
uploadfromtaptalk1392951503454.jpguploadfromtaptalk1392952106425.jpg

I am totally new to aquatic plants, so excuse me for being clueless. I forget what kind of plant this is, but I have three specimens of this one (they come three to a pack) to go in my nano (1.5 gallon) They are each in medicine cups to facilitate easier and less stressful handling and cleaning until I can get everything "right". Gravel is my substrate. Light is from a F13BX fluorescent in the hood. Fert is API Leaf Zone. My specimens I am not using in the nano stay in a windowsill in a jar of well water. (Same water I use in the nano) The left plant in the pic of two is one of these "spares". The right one just came out of the nano after I got the faded leaves off. The other pic is the right plant prior to the water change. 5 Tetras, 1 Guppy, and 2 Ottos are also kept in the nano and are doing well. My question: why is the plant in my nano died back but my spares are still doing well? As shown, I am seeing a lot of new growth but the "mature" foliage is died back.

Sent from my ALCATEL ONE TOUCH Fierce using Tapatalk