Odd-shaped tank... advice? Especially about glass...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KhayPrower

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I will start off by saying... I am a craftsman, not an owner :p

I have a project in the works, and it's fun, beautiful, and interesting... but I need a little expert advice
biggrin.gif

I have never built a tank before... thus, I do not know much about the stresses water can put on glass, among other things. I did some conversions, and found that my tank volume will be about 276.4 gallons, give or take a tiny bit. Although this is just the first stage of design, and things may/are bound to change, as always
biggrin.gif
It may end up a bit bigger or smaller, in the final draft...

Here I have drawn and attached a kinda schematic/blueprint thingy for the tank. You can see the shape is a bit odd...

There are only 4 pieces of glass, the rest of the project is wood. There is hardwood at every corner, 2" showing, with the glass slotted about .75" into the wooden corners on all sides (so about 1.25" solid wood holding all edges, holding it together). I am also probably putting a mirror in front of the back panel, as well as lining all the wooden sides with glass as well, to keep it dry
wink.gif
But I am not too worried about any of THOSE pieces, as they will be supported by solid wood, so will doubtlessly be fine.

I am curious, mainly, what thicknesses and types of glass are best for the sides, top, and front, though. Not to mention, I am trying to figure out if the front is really possible as planned, or will I need to use three separate rectangles, with wooden supports as joiners? I would PREFER a single piece, but am prepared to bow to the inevitable, if it indeed IS inevitable :p

Please look at this outline, and let me know what you experts think? Thanks!
smile.gif

-Khay

Attachments

• tank.jpg
    tank.jpg