Peppermint Shrimp Died :(

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Claudia Jean

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to saltwater fish only (live rock). In the past two months, I lost an emerald crab, green chromis and now my peppermint shrimp died. My water tests normal salinity at 1.021...what am I doing wrong? Not overpopulated..in the 30 gallon tank I also have several hermit crabs, a cleaner shrimp, and six one inch fish.

Thanks for any advice you may have. Claudia

do you have the parameters for the tank? pH, amonia, nitrate, nitrite? alk and mag can come later but not important for the moment. did you cycle the tank properly? what are the 6 1inch fish you're referring to? with that many deaths, it would be logical to think that maybe your tank is still cycling. a picture of your tank would be nice to start

Did you add any supplements to your tank recently? If so what types? What type of lighting do you have?

I'm new to saltwater fish only (live rock). In the past two months, I lost an emerald crab, green chromis and now my peppermint shrimp died. My water tests normal salinity at 1.021...what am I doing wrong? Not overpopulated..in the 30 gallon tank I also have several hermit crabs, a cleaner shrimp, and six one inch fish.

Thanks for any advice you may have. Claudia
I started my tank in February. I had water checked at LFS two weeks ago..all fine. Today, all fine except slightly high phosphate and nitrate level was a little high. During the past two weeks I had added a strawberry dottyback..others in tank include a green chromis, a clownfish, a pajama cardinal, the dotty, and two damsels. LFS tells me water is not bad enough to kill fish or inverts. They advise I am feeding too much. I feed frozen in the morning and some flakes at night.