pH crash

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Davon

Aquarium Advice Activist
My pH has crashed. Any suggestions? Tank is newly cycled. I'm putting fish in it this weekend unless I can't get this fixed before then. IMG_8860.jpg

Tap water is typically 6.8. Through cycling it's been about 6.6 or 6.4 due to dosing with ammonia. I need to do a water change tomorrow so I can put fish in on Saturday.

What's in the tank? Rock? Sand? Driftwood, Coral?

Co2 will also drop the ph.

Do you know the GH and KH?

No co2. I don't have live plants because I'm new to this and I wanted to start slow. According to the test strips I have GH and KH are both 0. Don't know if those strips are accurate and I don't know much about GH and KH. Here is a pic of my tank. Everything in it is artificial. IMG_8861.jpg

If your GH and KH are 0 it sounds like your water is filtered. You can add coral/aragonite to remineralize naturally. I use about 1/2 cup in my canister to stabilize my PH for my 29 gallon tank. IMG_8649.JPG

Last edited:
Take that left log out it might be the problem. Chemicals are getting trapped inside that plastic structure and probably bacteria. I bought two a few years ago and it trapped stuff because the tiny fill holes at the bottom and top. Take it out and drain the plastic log structures to see what inside. I'd fill a cup and test the water that drains out of it into the cup. I took mine back and made a complaint.

Go with TMaier's suggestion. I had the same issue with pH. Your playing with fire with such a low pH, as most if not all BB, will die, causing you to lose your cycle. I've been using Aragonite, and it's awesome​, pH has remained at a constant 7.4 and things are going great! I am using about 1.5 cups in my canister. Just remember to rinse, rinse, and rinse to remove small dust particles, otherwise, the tank will turn cloudy.