pH rising ridiculously fast

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Churchen

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey everyone, first time poster here. I’m at a bit of a loss. First let me start by saying I’m brand new to fish keeping. I have a 45 gallon tank with 9 neon tetra and 9 X ray tetra.

I have noticed that my pH is high, too high for tetra (currently sitting at an 8). It will NOT go down. Before I get hit with the “don’t worry, Tetra are fine at this pH, just worry about swings”, I want to solve the problem and learn to manage pH, instead of manage it for my fish.

So I’ve been trying 25% water changes every day. Today, I did a 50% water change. My tap water is perfect for tetra, slightly acidic and soft. My tap sits at about a 6.8 and soft. The purpose of the water changes was to essentially try to get the water to lower gradually.

After I finished the water change, my pH was sitting at about a 6.9. After two hours, we were back up to a 7.8. After another two hours, I’m sitting at 8. I can. not. get. the. pH. to. lower.

I’ve nuked it with full bottles of pH down (not all at once), I’ve added driftwood, I’ve tried the water changes, I added a small plant, nothing helps.

One of my neons died today. They are relatively new, so I’m trying not to freak out, but I am getting worried.

Tank parameters:

Temp: 77F
pH: 8
Nitrate: ~10 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Ammonia: 0 ppm
kH: 5
gH: 3

I feed three times a day, probably a bit too much. My only thought now is the cheap stuff I got from PetSmart in my substrate is just skyrocketing the pH.

In the tank I have one plant (bocalis?), two plastic coral pieces, one pieces of driftwood, and a few plastic plants. I hate the plastic but that’s what I have for now, I will upgrade to better plants in the future.