Pictures and plant care advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JRagg

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Well I'm just getting started on my planted tank. Right now I'm happy with what I have in there, but it seems that all of the plants aren't happy. That's where I'm asking for some help. As it is, right now I'm cycling my tank, and I would be willing to guess that most of the required nutrients are not in there.

My tank is a 15W bulb over a 10gallon tank. I'm using Flourish Root Tabs near all of the plants. I dose Leaf Zone (K2O and Fe) once a week like suggested on the bottle. pH is around 7.8, Ammonia 4.0 (cycling), Nitrite 0.25, and Nitrate 5-10 (dkH is 4 and dgH is 10). I've got a piece of petrified wood in there along with the following plants:

Cryptocoryne Lutea (right in the middle)
2 x Anubias (not sure which kind)
Anubias Nana
Red Melon Sword
Water Sprite (the guy at the store really messed up bagging it and broke 4 stems)
Java Fern
Red Wendtii

Here is a picture. Excuse the screwdriver. I took the light fixture apart so that I could see what was inside (I'm an engineer). I plan to put on a black background before the fish go in, but for now it's naked.
IMG_0433.JPG

I'm looking for some suggestions on how to set this up. I need a little more growth before I can "fill up the tank", but some of my plants aren't doing so well.

The Java Fern - Black spots and Brown Dead spots on some leaves. I'm guessing this is a deficiency of some sort. Should I prune the bad leaves (even though they are the largest by far)?

Red Melon Sword - I know I don't have enough light for this guy. I screwed up at the store. If I moved it to the middle would that help?

Anubias' - Slow growers for sure, but it looks like they could be healthier. Do they take a while to get used to the tank and take off? How deep should they be planted?