Planted & algae

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mikewezel

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I'm new to planted tanks. I planted a 29, made a co2 generator and used fertilizer tabs. The plants are doing exceptionally well, getting bigger and new growth (never expected good results first try). The thing is, in that tank I have an abundance of Algae growth, as compared to my other tanks. I just want to know, is this to be expected due to the co2 and fertilizer, or am I doing something wrong? Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

Algae growth is generally due to an imbalance of something in the cycle. Whether its co2, ferts, or light. How long are you running your lights daily? What are you doing to fertilize the water column? What lighting do you have? What plants do you have?

Ok I have red ludwigia, Java fern, anubias nana, and small plant that looks like bean sprouts that I can't remember it's name. I used api root tabs per instructions on package. I have a marineland led light that runs 10-12 hours a day. Sorry for Christmas tree light reflection. ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1387732698.826569.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1387732719.349215.jpg

It really just looks like diatoms to me which are perfectly common and expected in a newer tank. If it really bugs you Nerite snails are great at cleaning diatoms up.

I would absolutely try dropping the lighting period down to about 6 hours daily until the algae clears up. Longer photo periods tend to cause faster growth of algae.