planting a 10 gal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mommytron

Aquarium Advice Addict
I currently have a 20 gal and a 10 gal cycling fishless right now. I am very interested in making at least the 10 gal a planted tank. I'm a beginner to the aquarium world so I'm looking to do just a couple different low maintenance plants and a couple guppies for the ten gal. what I'm concerned about is cost. The 10 gal is an Aqueon deluxe starter kit with a 150watt heater(will change after cycling) and has a 2" layer of fake colored gravel and a couple fake plants right now. I had planned to add a piece of driftwood from the 20 gal and possibly a hideout of some type. I know I will need different gravel and a new bulb. what other equipment/supplies will be necessary to buy? do I need a co2 system? (I'm not even sure what that is!) does anyone have any inexpensive suggestions for gravel or bulbs?
I was also wondering how to switch it over. I'm thinking I would just wait for the tank to cycle, then when I do the large PWC change out the gravel and switch the bulb. then would I just be able to add plants?
sorry for so many questions, I've looked at a few articles on here but i wound up more confused after reading them.
thanks for the help! :D