Plants dying off help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Thepokerkid227

Aquarium Advice Activist
So as I said in previous threads I am totally new to live plants, I am currently cycling a new 20G long tank that has T5 lighting. A trip to a LFS and some talk with the owner and he sold me a couple hearty plants for my background swords and penny wort and suggested I add root tabs which I put in, the pack of API root tabs. Anyway my plants seem to be dying off. Temp is around 82, PH 7.6, I also have been using excel flourish as a carbon source. I cut roots off of plants before I planted as suggested by the guy at LFS, did I kill the plants doing this and taking his advice?! I'm pretty mad that I have about $20 worth of plants dying. Thanks!

Aquatic Plants

So as I said in previous threads I am totally new to live plants, I am currently cycling a new 20G long tank that has T5 lighting. A trip to a LFS and some talk with the owner and he sold me a couple hearty plants for my background swords and penny wort and suggested I add root tabs which I put in, the pack of API root tabs. Anyway my plants seem to be dying off. Temp is around 82, PH 7.6, I also have been using excel flourish as a carbon source. I cut roots off of plants before I planted as suggested by the guy at LFS, did I kill the plants doing this and taking his advice?! I'm pretty mad that I have about $20 worth of plants dying. Thanks!

Hello The...

Plants take time to adjust to new water conditions. They'll look poorly for a time and even die back. Once the plants adjust, most will start new growth. I keep Pennywort in my tanks, but I just let it float on the surface. This plant takes in nutrients from the roots, so I think it does best just floating. Swords are hardy, so they should improve if you give them a little time.