Plants still not thriving

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Millerman

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I know you guys must get sick of dealing with helping people solve their plant problems but I'm new to plants and I'm clueless still. My tank isn't looking how I wanted and kinda looks like crud. My plants aren't really thriving and just surviving. I can sure farm the hair algea and diatoms though.

So here's my setup
55 gallon tank
I have 4 6500k t8 bulbs in shop lights resting on the glass ( I feel like a lot of light is escaping and am going to try to build some type of light reflector)
Dose excel daily/every other day(plan on upgrading to pressurized after Christmas and still supplement with excel and metricide)
Dose flourish weekly
Added root tabs 2 weeks ago getting more soon

Plants:
Amazon sword
Anubias nana
Dwarf hairgrass ( I feel for it like every other beginner, can I still grow it with my set up?)
Java fern
Water wisteria

I guess my question is what is holding my plants back. The water wisteria is growing good and my anubias has sent up two leaves.
My Java fern hasn't done anything, my Amazon sword leaves turned brown so I trimmed them and they grew these stubby 1/2-1 inch leaves and haven't done anything since, and my dwarf hairgrass is not spreading at all but it's still green.

Hey don't stress you're new to plants. I'm more obsessed about the plants then the fish....and I've only been in the planted scene since Easter. My main problem is that I'm always sticking my hand in there....

How long are your lights on for?
I am not really familiar with light specs. From what I read on the forum though most people find the T8s to not give enough light output. It would be enough I assume to grow the sword, wisteria and all but not the hairgrass.