PLEASE help! I thought I new how to cycle but I was wrong.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JesseMoreira06

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey*Everyone my name is Jesse, I'm completely new to the whole aquarium game but out of nowhere got so interested and started doing lots of research. I thought I new about the whole*nitrogen cycle*but I guess not. Here is my problem and where I need help, tank was cycling got a reading of*

ammonia*0.25 PPM (realised after I was dumb)
nitrite*0 ppm
nitrate*10ppm-20ppm

So I decided to add 2 Cory catfish

Now I waited a couple hours and did another test and is now reading

Ammonia 0.50ppm
Nitrite 0ppm
And nitrate 10ppm- 20ppm

Basically im guessing my tank was never actually done the cycle cause it was 0.25 which I only realised afterwards was still to high. Should I switch to*prime? (Currently I'm using nutrafin aquaPlus). Should I perform a*water change?*

Any help would be appreciate, I don't know if I'm hurting Baggett and Francois ( my 2 newly aquired Cory fish ). They seem to be moving a lot swimming like crazy, like they have so much energy and every so often they go up and gulp for air (every 5 min or so)*

Thanks in advance*

P.s I'm new to this forum to.

Hello and welcome!

Could you tell us more about your setup? Size, filtration?

Unless you have nitrates in your tap water, your tank is cycled. Sometimes when we add new fish, the nitrifying bacteria takes some time to catch up.

Prime is a great product. I don't know much about AquaPlus.

Ideally, we want our water to always test 0 ppm ammonia, 0 ppm nitrites, <40 ppm nitrates; but, your tank really isn't testing too badly. Nirbhao is right; it could just be the addition of new fish to the tank. Try the Seachem Prime as as she suggested.