Please Help Me!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sarah_hart81

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there. So I am brand new to this hobby and could really use some help. Yesterday I bought a 29 gallon aquarium off craig's list. I had planned on making it a goldfish tank, done all my extensive research, but yesterday when I picked up the tank my carefully laid plans went out the window. The kid who was selling it asked if I wanted the fish too. In truth I didn't, but they were all going to be condemned to death crowded in an unfiltered 2 gal jar unless I did soooo now I need a new plan and a lot of advice. The fish I rescued are 2 jeweled cichlids, 1 silver molly, 1 otocinclus catfish, 1 african dwarf frog and 1 other small catfish I don't recognize. I think it might be a cory, but I'm not 100%. The only tanks I have are a 10 gal and the new 29 gal, neither of which are cycled as I had not intended to stock them right away. I know the jeweled cichlids will be mean. I've aready seen them picking on the frog and the molly, the catfish they don't seem to care about though. So I'm thinking I should move the frog and the molly to my 10 gal and keep the jewled cichlids and catfish to the 29 gal, and do a 50% water change every week until the cycling is complete. Does that sound right? I am completely new to this, but I hate to see any living thing die and I want to give these guys the best chance. Follow up, down the road question, if the catfish I saved is indeed a cory I know it will be happier in a school. Can I keep a small school of cories will the jeweled cichlids or will they just kill them all off? Right now they don't mess with him, but they're very new and both small (1 is and inch and a half, the other is about 2 inches). Any advice would be sooo greatly appreciated. Thanks!