Pleco advice please!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rbell831

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello!! I am pretty new to the whole aquarium/fresh water fish thing, but my kids and I wanted a nice tank for Christmas, so that's what we got! I have a 20g aqueon hexagon tank. The water cycled for about 3 weeks, and on New Years Eve I put in five platys. They seem to be doing well so far, but I was wondering when I can put a pleco in? The guy at petsmart that tested my water said I can add one now, but I need to have algae wafers. Just wanted some advice. Thanks!

I would get your own liquid test kit. I've seen many times where the store says "it's fine" when really it's not.

If the tank is cycled(water test by you can tell you this) you could add a small clown or bristlenose pleco to answer your question.

Just be aware most plecos produce much more waste than they clean up. Many that keep them like the fish itself not for its "cleaning" abilities lol. If you just want it for cleaning, I'd look at other bottom feeders such as corydora.

Caleb

The only real option i know of is s bristle nose pleco, don't get a common pleco they get literally feet long. Another thing to keep mind is that they produce a lot of waste meaning you'll need to clean/change your water more.

Sini's my personal bucket lugger..er, I mean husband

I have a BN and a clown, although I almost never see either, especially the clown because he's so small. While they are very neat, honestly I doubt I will get a pleco again, even after having the one for 12 years. The amount of poop they produce is ridiculous, and I don't even feed them every day. And I rarely see them except when they blast away to hide in the driftwood. Be sure you really like them for what they are before you get one.