Pregnant or bloated?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mrsaltmiller

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I need help determining of my Mickey Mouse Platy fish is pregnant or bloated. I bought a male and female on 11/26, so just over 4 weeks ago, then added a female panda platy shortly after. It seems to me like the female Mickey Mouse fish has become a lot larger but I don't see a gravid spot. I've seen her poop a few times in the past couple of days so I'm not sure if its bloat. I've also noticed that her gills are becoming darker, not sure if that has anything to do with pregnancy or not. The male still follows her around everywhere. She doesn't seem to be acting much differently. I'm attaching photos (the best I can get since they move so fast.) The yellow one is the female, male is orange. I'm very new to all of this so thanks in advance for your help!

Hi, did the photo's attach your end? Can't see them here. If the scales look ruffled / pine- coned then it may be bloat.

It don't see any ruffling or coat on her scales. I've attached the pictures to this post.

Attachments

• fish 2.jpg
    fish 2.jpg
    139.5 KB · Views: 140
  • fish 1.jpg
    fish 1.jpg
    179.2 KB · Views: 158
Looks pregnant to me. Is the top fin still up and fish otherwise ok?

If you have the space I would also go for a ratio of 4 female to 1 male. I know 2:1 is commonly suggested, I find a higher ratio works better for small schools.

So this morning I noticed that the male platy was harassing the pregnant(?) female, chasing her everywhere around the tank, trying to rub on her, and it looked like she was trying to get him to stop but he wouldn't. Now, for the past couple of hours, she has been hiding at the very top of the tank behind the filter. Is this normal?