Pregnant platy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HausMaus

Aquarium Advice Regular
So I have two expectant mums, a tri mickey mouse platy and a sunset platy. "Minnie" is much bigger and one of the males is nipping at her flanks, presumably at the fry eyes?? When should I put her in the fry tank?ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1442997607.450358.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Congrats on the platys! I am by no means an expert, but when my platy had babies I left her in the main tank with the and some floating moss. In my case I used hornwurt but java moss would work fine too. After the fry are born, try to catch them and but them in the fry tank. I used a turkey baster to suck them up and put them in. I will tell you I had about 30 in my first batch, and it took me 30-45 minutes to get them all and transfer them. It was totally worth it though watching them grow up!
What size are the tanks?

I moved her into my 12L/3g fry tank (which has four 8 week old guppy fry).
Once she gives birth I'll put her back in the main tank (35L/10g). There's plenty of java moss fin the ry tank.
Then, I have no idea what I will do with them once they've grown!

Sounds like a good plan although if it is an option, I would try to get a bigger tank for the fry as there will be a ton of them. Anyway as to what to do with them when I had my fry I ended up selling them to my LFS for in store credit of 50 cents each. It was definitely a fun adventure! Let me know if you have any more questions!

Ok so Minnie is still pregnant and huge. The other sunset platy that wasn't as big seems to have had her fry in the main tank!!
Last night I noticed she didn't seem pregnant any more. I looked for fry in the tank but couldn't see any. Oh wellI thought.
This morning I noticed fry behind the filter wall compartment!! What the?!!